The history of St Joseph’s Church is intrinsically tied to the Portuguese Mission in Singapore with the arrival of Father Francisco da Silva Pinto e Maia who came from Macau in 1825. As he had no church or chapel, Father Maia said mass in the house of Dr Jose d’Almeida at Beach Road.
With the promulgation of the decree dated 26th June 1981 by the Most Reverend Gregory Yong, Archbishop of Singapore, the 95-year old double judisdiction in the state of Singapore came to an end with effect from 1st July of the same year. The main change effecting St Joseph’s Church as a result of the promulgation, besides the transfer of the jurisdiction of about 7,000 parishioners to the Archdiocese of Singapore, was the cessation of St Joseph’s as a parish. It then became a Church of Devotion.
On 14th January 2005, in recognition of its rich history and social and cultural importance, especially to the Eurasian community, St Joseph’s Church was gazetted as a National Monument by the National Heritage Board of Singapore.
USER CODE OF CONDUCT
Please observe the rules of this page when commenting on posts. The following are not allowed:
– Anti-religious (or group bashing), political posts, or any form of spam.
– Irrelevant comments not relating to the original posts.
– Uncharitable, irreverent, offensive, degrading, uncivil and disrespectful comments.
– Anti-Catholic comments or offensive on the clergy or religious..
– Sharing of non-Catholic or violent and offensive posts.
– Promotion of other blogs, writings, reflections, fb pages, causes, services and products.
Editors reserve the right to remove such comments and even ban individuals for flouting any of the above rules.